Throughout the Radol'ca area there are several small, but nonetheless interesting, rural churches. Visit them whilst cycling or walking in the green surroundings.
The succursal church in Studenčice features one of the earliest wall paintings in Slovenia dating from the early 14th century. Among the paintings on display, of particular note is the portrayal of the town of Radovljica and its Predtrg area ablaze in the fire of 1761. In the past the exterior of the church was also covered with beautiful frescoes, however only the image of St. Christopher, dating from around 1400, is preserved. In the 17th century a porch with a wooden roof was added to the church.
The small church of St. Lambert, the patron saint of the Ortenburgs, stands in a forest clearing in the upper part of the village of Lancovo and serves as a stunning example of a medieval succursal church. From Radovljica you can see the church standing in the middle of the green slopes on the right bank of the Sava river.
It is thought that the church once served as the chapel of the spearmen from Lipnica Castle. It has a preserved Gothic vaulted presbytery which was constructed during the second decade of the 16th century. The partially preserved frescoes are from the same period. The frescoes of St. Helen and St. Ursula, which are located next to the Gothic window behind the main altar, have been particularly well preserved.
The church was remodelled in the 17th and 18th centuries and the nave is entirely Baroque. The high-quality entrance portal, made from Peračica tuff, dates back to the 17th century.
Amidst the picturesque fields that surround the village of Dobrava stands the Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross. In the past, people mostly came to the church to see the statue of St. Roch, which stands on one of the side altars. St. Roch is invoked to protect against contagious diseases.
The Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross was built in the 17th century and has been remodelled several times since then. In 1945 it was bombed by World War II Partisan combatants. It was rebuilt in the years immediately following the war, whilst the bell tower was reconstructed in 1969. In the period from 1880-1889 the priest of the church was Jakob Aljaž, who was cared for by his mother Elizabeth, who died in Dobrava, and whose gravestone can be seen on the church wall.
Adjacent to the church is a cemetery and a memorial to the combatants of the National Liberation Struggle. Stane Žagar, a local teacher, people's enlightenment activist and national hero, is laid to rest here with his fellow fighters. The memorial's eighteen broken spikes of corn were forged in Kropa in 1957 in accordance with the designs of the architect Boris Kobe.
The Church of St. Anthony of the Desert in the small village of Otoče is situated atop a terrace above the Sava river. The church's present-day appearance is Baroque, but it also retains some of its original Gothic features, such as preserved Gothic portal, which has a pointed top, and is inscribed with the year 1480. In front of the church entrance there is a Renaissance porch with an atrium.
The church in the village of Ovsise, near Podnart, was built on the site where there was once a spring of water. Perhaps it was for this reason that it was dedicated to St. Nicholas – the saint of fisherman and sailors and the intercessor for protection from flood. The statue of St. Valentine on the side altar drew pilgrims to the church on St. Valentine's Day. The church was built in the 16th century and subsequently remodelled several times. Its exterior features a reconstruction of an original fresco with rich Late-Baroque decorative features on the presbytery.
This succursal St. Thomas’s church was built during the Gothic period and remodelled thereafter. The year 1696 is inscribed on the portal, which is made from Peračica tuff.